Blog 2 Running a Flying Trapeze – It’s Handy if You Have Good people Around You

I’m lucky enough to attend a circus so I know lots of people who have been helping me get this Flying Trapeze organized. My gift is that I don’t think that I know everything and I’m willing to use the expertise of others. The person who has helped heaps is Nick, he teaches me static trapeze and he used to run a Flying Trapeze set up. Alli and Grant have also come out and helped with working bees to get the place ready and Kurt has provided us with some much needed tools.  Alessandro’s advice has been invaluable and I couldn’t have done any of this without Steen from Victoria.  There’s also been oodles of people who have offered business acumen, sourcing mats and many other things I need to consider in running a Flying Trapeze business.

I’ve been having many discussions about how this is all going to work once it starts and probably things will change as we progress, we will see what works and what doesn’t.

We have to be able to make enough money to pay the instructors, pay the insurance and probably a little extra for replacing equipment when needed. Any extra we make will go towards advertising, a dedicated business phone and paying back the loan to buy this thing. While we get ourselves trained up to be instructors we will probably just have family and friends on the rig and we will ask for $50 for a two hour session. When we become professional and polished at what we’re doing then it will be probably $90 for a two hour session, that’s comparable with what is offered interstate. I also want to run one hour classes and I haven’t figured out a price on them yet. If we become crazy successful my dream and let’s face it you gotta have a dream is that we would buy another rig to keep in the city and then maybe another rig that’s used to be mobile and reach people who wouldn’t necessarily get access to this sort of thing. That leads me to my philosophy about this enterprise.

A couple of years ago I saw Point A’s mission statement that they kept on their wall. They are a group in the city that provide a space for people to persue movement activities like yoga and martial arts and tumbling and stuff. The mission statement  talked about the fact that humans don’t have to compete with each other they can collaborate. This was a revelation to me because I had always been crazy competitive and probably still am if I’m truthful. Their mission statement changed the way I taught physical exercise at school. I’m a primary school teacher by the way.  I still left room for competition for those who wanted it but my emphasis became what can your body do and isn’t that cool. Students started to view their bodies as a very cool fun thing to move with and as Point A quoted from Socrates,

No citizen has a right to be an amateur in the matter of physical training…what a disgrace it is for a man to grow old without ever seeing the beauty and strength of which his body is capable. – Socrates

I saw that quote on the Point A wall and it was life changing.  Flying Trapeze is a way to show anybody what their bodies can do. To fly is the most amazing experience and I think everybody should get a chance to experience this. So our business will be safe but it won’t matter if we don’t make a buzillion bucks we all have day jobs the Flying Trapeze’s job is to show people an amazing experience.

All righty thank you for reading and I’ll catch you next week.220px-Trapeze_artists_1890

Leave a Reply

