Blog 6 A Thank You Session

11903833_10153560871806118_5268412703842282209_n

Blog 6 A Thank You Session

Today was all about saying thank you to the people who helped get The South Australian School of Trapeze off the ground. We didn’t have everyone who helped but I’m hoping those that didn’t come today can get their complimentary session in the near future.

For today we had Nick, James, Meslissa, Alli, Jessica and me and we had a hoot. I am very tired and very sore writing this up but a happy tired and sore like I’ve had the best day of my life and I’m about to get a whole lot more of them.

So what made it the best day of my life? The company was good. These people are lovely to work with, they don’t yell or criticize it’s just laid back and fun. The activity was fantastic. I wanted to make sure that everyone got a turn because no-one like a trapeze hog but my goodness I got a lot of air time today. I got my back somersault which I hadn’t been able to do before. I got to fly and got caught by Nick, I have done that before with another catcher but it never gets old. I got to climb to the catcher’s bar and muck around on that and then fall to the net without lines it was amazing.

Alli and Melissa learned how to work the board and they did a fantastic job. I got shown how to demonstrate a back knee hang on the practice bar and I think I’ll need to practise that. I had a go at climbing the pole and got absolutely nowhere so that’s another thing I’ll need to practise.

We held a blessing for the rig. I’m struggling to come up with a name for what we did. I was going to use christening but I’m a pagan so that didn’t seem right. Alli said we could call it a name day celebration but we haven’t named her yet even though I’ve figured out that she’s a she so I’m going to go with a blessing that seems right as when I do wiccan stuff we often use the term blessed be. I love that rig I really do.

At one point four of us lay in the net talking shit, having a drink and I felt like the richest person in the world it was an awesome day. Tomorrow we start training new instructors and I’m certainly looking forward to that.

Thank you for reading and I’ll catch you next week.

Leave a Reply

