Blog 10 So Much Frickin Fun

Blog 10 So Much Frickin Fun

Training started today with me getting a step by step account on how to set up the net. Nick managed to break it down into a seven step process and pretty much wrote my first procedure statement for me, huzzah!

The next activity took me back to my days in the scouts where I could not tie knots for love nor money. Nick not being afraid of a challenge decided he was going to teach me how to tie a bow line knot which completely stumped me until he started speaking Primary School talk, ie the rabbit goes in the hole and then around the tree… then I started to get it. I also got shown how to do a trucker’s knot and for me to keep this information in my head I’m going to need to practice these during the week. It’s pretty cool learning this stuff and any would be instructors for TSAST are going to need to know how to do this too.

For training we had Emily and Liam and then when James and Mel arrived I thought we might get to do catching today as the weather was perfect. It turns out that we did get to do catching so I was a very happy camper.

I had some goals going into this training session and one goal was that I was going to work the lines for several people in a row so I could get this in my head as the first time completely terrified me. I had a fly and I was just about to scuttle up that ladder again and I thought no you set a goal, do it. Give it a half an hour. So I put on the gloves and I asked to have a go and my goodness my whole neck was sore because I was concentrating so hard. You really need to have several goes in a row though because you do it and Nick or James will tweak what you did and then you improve and you do it again and eventually it starts making sense. Nick was a complete bugger and said try calling one. No I said I just want to do the lines this week I’ll call next week. Call it he says, no I says, we often have these discussions and then while I was mid no I thought well why not. You have James right here to make sure nothing goes wrong why not try it. So I did. I made a complete hash of it but I did it and the next time was a little better and then James demonstrated again and he was so bloody smooth. Can you imagine how proud you can be of yourself if you’re nervous about doing something and then you do it? You feel like you’re on top of the world.

I have known Liam for a while now and we have long been fitness buddies. He knows exactly what to say to make me happy so when he arrived at training and he had got himself a coffee and some sun cream and he was good to go he comes up to me and compliments me on how well the paddock has been mowed it’s been manicured and pedicured he says and then he spies Charity my horse and he says something like Charity is looking so beautiful today and that’s it. It’s like saying a magic password to making me happy. Your horse is beautiful and I see you’ve mown the paddock. Liam is brilliant.

Emily wore a T Shirt that could well have our first team motto on it. The shirt says Don’t Be a DNB and it’s a Rhonda Rousey shirt. So of course I ask what does DNB stand for and Emily says it’s an expression from Rhonda Rousey and she says Don’t Be a Do Nothing Bitch. I love that I’m just not sure if I would have to ask permission from Rhonda Rousey if we were to use it as our team motto.

Now while I was learning all sorts of things from my training partners Nick also had some wisdom to impart. Nick is always early to training and he catches me out because I like to set up the stuff before everyone arrives. I said to him at he start of training Nick you’re always early. He says if you’re on time you’re late. I waited for the clarification and it came. If you’re due to start work at 10.30 and you arrive at 10.30 he says you’re late for your shift because you need to put your bag down and get yourself organized so he makes sure he always arrives before start time so he can start right on the buzzer. I thought that was a very useful tip.

Regular readers of my blog know that I do circus training as well playing on a flying trapeze. In circus training part of what we do is train in strength conditioning. This is inspired by Ido Portal’s training involving bullet proofing of the body. I have had many falls and I don’t seem to be getting injured these days using these techniques. Now I’m not trying to tempt fate here but during flying trapeze training on Saturday I came off the net and missed the mat and landed really heavily on my feet. I was trying to do a speccy net dismount. It hurt like crap and I’m pretty sure people in China heard me wailing about it. I went and soaked my feet in a bucket of water for a half an hour thinking they’re broken, how can I train, do I need feet for trapeze? My team mates (apart from Liam who is a very kind soul) were not remotely interested because I fall on a pretty regular basis and I thought yeah whose going to feel bad if these feet end up being broken but after half an hour they were fine again. I was up I was trapezing. Because I was so nervous about a photo shoot I was doing at the end of the day I fell again in the horse enclosure and again nothing broken nothing sprained, this morning I’m barely sore. I have two cute little bruises on my feet and that’s it. Now you think about the risk of older people falling over and not getting up again I reckon everyone should be using Ido’s methods. If you get a chance go to one of his sessions or find a trainer who will use his methods they’re awesome.

Do you know what was freaky about the photo shoot? I wanted to do that photo shoot to teach me to be happier in my own skin. I broke it down into steps, get the outfit, get the photographer, be willing to wear the outfit in front of people and be willing to get your picture taken then maybe publicly show the photo. I never expected to enjoy the task and as I got changed and Nick put on my makeup and Emily wrestled with my hair I realised I was enjoying myself. It was great to be made a fuss of and Sasha Pazeski the photographer had such a wonderful energy that I wasn’t nervous at all I felt like I had known him forever so thank you Bianca Newton for connecting me to him. A big thank you also to Nick Armstrong and Emily Frank Surnette, my very own makeup/hair/coaching/spotting and support team. What I learned out of the experience is that bodies come in all shapes and sizes and they’re all beautiful. Size does not dictate worth, beauty or function, size is just size. Revelationary stuff! The photo I have included is a shot Nick took if I get something speckier from Sasha I’ll be sure to share.

12042735_10156042976075632_470603208758331332_n

Thank you for reading we have some very cool new videos on the TSAST face book page just look up The South Australian School of Trapeze.

Leave a Reply

