Blog 14 Getting Ready for Trial Day

12179236_10153225615961716_858344363_n

Blog 14 Getting Ready for Trial Day

So next Saturday is Halloween and that’s the day we picked to invite people over and pretend to be clients for our fledgling business. Each of us will have jobs and we will run our clients through the practise bar, operate the board and do the safety lines. We have nine people coming some of them have no fitness experience some are trapeze friends and some are somewhere in between.

I spent all week practising my spiel for the lines. I went out to the paddock and visualised the person jumping off the board and when I say what I say. I practised in the car and I practised while walking the dogs. I was going to get this.

Training started and my stomach was doing flip flops. I didn’t have butterflies in my stomach I had big frogs hopping around.

My first job was ‘working the board’ and I was determined not to throw anyone off like I did last week. I did a few and no-one died, that was nice and then I got to teach the job to someone else and that concretes your learning. So that was cool. Special mention to Sarah here who learned the job and did really well and had a lovely manner with today’s pretend clients. I must give a special mention to Alli and Jess for their board spiels. You would have thought those girls had done the board forever. They rattled off their spiels and they gave you a sense of complete confidence. Hand on the bar, what will you be doing today, feet shoulder width apart and so on. It was really impressive.

I knew the lines job was waiting for me and Nick decided that we should all do a thirty minute stint on each job. It was my turn for the lines and off I went. Those lines were mine. Have you heard the expression fake it till you make it? I put on my gloves I grabbed that line, I had this.

I made a complete balls up of the first job and I told myself you are here for thirty minutes, you will not run away, you will do this. I had the spiel but I still had to work on when you said each thing and I had to work on the pulling and then releasing bit. Because I had the words now and I wasn’t fumbling for the right expression it took one variable out of the equation and I could concentrate on the other two, timing and quality of pulling that dam line. Nick is a very good trainer, he doesn’t just say pull harder, which he was saying a lot today, he will also watch what you do figure out what’s going wrong show you the correction and then away you go. So I thought I was pulling with all my heart and I have a bit of upper body strength I’d like to think but he showed me how to put my whole body into the pull and it made all the difference in the world. You don’t just use your arms you squat down and use your body and your legs as well.

I don’t have it down pat but it makes a lot more sense than it did. With the timing I had to call them to release the bar at the end of their swing not the middle so if I can just remember that for next week it’s going to help a lot.

Danielle joined us today and she brought her young daughter with her who I think is maybe two or around there. Her little girl just giggled and laughed while she watched her mum swinging through the air and I thought what brilliant role models Sarah, Jessica, Alli and Danielle are being to their children. There’s no DNB’s at The South Australian School of Trapeze.

We got some seriously cute pictures of the younger members of the TSAST team now known as TSASTlings and we’re thinking it would be cool to get them little tops like the instructors are going to wear, maybe they could have L’s on theirs.

Peter had a go on the lines and I was flying while he did them and when you come down you barely drop. He’s so strong that he pretty much just lowers you down it’s an unreal feeling.

Since Peter tried the Planche I had to try the Planche and yes I am that immature. I had some success the first time but after that I managed to do a skin the cat in mid air which was interesting but not the Planche that I wanted. A little later on I did an amazingly bad jump off and afterwards when the subsequent trick was mangled to hell Nick said you should probably just bail if it starts that badly. I am an optimist though I was hoping I could turn that baby around. It was not to be however.

When the work was over we got a little time just for some fun, Nick set up the catcher’s bar and it was on for young and old. I really worked on my jumping off and had a lot more success than last time we got out the catcher’s bar. Alli, Sarah and Emily did some lovely catches with Nick.  Emily also did the lines while we tried some catching and did a really good job of it.

Peter and I also got to have a little fun on the catcher’s bar. It’s a pity I finished my time with another crash but hey you get that sometimes.

After training we packed up, broke bread together, discussed the trial day and watched the little tsastlings fight off sleep. There was plenty to eat, plenty to drink and plenty to talk about. It was another perfect day in Paradise.

Thank you for reading if you want to see more pop over to our TSAST face book page, just look up The South Australian School of Trapeze. here’s a few pics of the day. Sarah’s first catch is on the facebook page.

12179906_10153058300821230_1150210778_n

12180003_10153058301061230_1697266247_n

Leave a Reply

