Blog 18 Alli Has Arrived

imagesMH2M8SMZ

 

I had got it into my head that I was now ready to set up the net. If someone had plugged me into a lie detector I would have passed when they asked me Trish are you ready to set up the net? So it came as a very great surprise when I discovered today that no I wasn’t ready to set up the net just yet.

I’d been toying with the idea of setting everything up and what a wonderful surprise that would be for the team when they arrived. I did recall though that Nick had said he was going to pick a person as team leader and get them to organise the team into setting up the net so I thought I won’t get in the way of that.

Anyhoo the team arrived and Alli got picked to be team leader. I went off to set up my one bit of the net set up and I stuffed it up. Then I went and did another bit of the net set up and stuffed that up too. I was flabbergasted, I would have sworn on a stack of bibles that I knew what I was doing. It’s quite sobering when reality doesn’t match what’s in your head. I was very grateful Alli came round to check.

Alli was a great team leader. She organised people, she did a lot of the set up herself so she wasn’t  just standing there bossing people and she was lovely when I made my two mistakes. That’s a gift if you can correct a person and not make them feel any worse than they already do. She and Nick can do that. I am grateful for the people I work with and I was totally thinking that I could set up the net by myself and have a play and now I’m thinking I might just make sure someone else is there for the time being.

We had a good turn out today and as soon as I heard that James was coming I knew catching would be on the cards. Apart from turning around and flying without the lines and not buggering up setting up the net there is nothing I like more than catching.

We all worked on our hocks off move and it’s really hard to land properly in the net. I’m not going to be able to get that ticked off just yet. It did look like everyone was continuing to progress. Danielle did the board and did a great job and I think Jessica did her first catch. Sarah is improving with every swing so all up a good day was had by all.

I’ve got some goals for next week. I’m going to master those lines. I’m going to make them mine and if it doesn’t happen next week it’s going to be the next week or the week after that but it’s going to happen.

We got a treat right at the end of training. We got to climb up to the catcher’s bar and swing and start to learn how to be a catcher. This was ridiculous fun to do and to be a catcher will be a supremely awesome thing.

Our opening day is coming up ridiculously soon. I’m off to buy a business phone this week so that potential customers can ring me to book sessions. I’m also going to monitor the TSAST email better than I have been in case people are trying to get in touch that way. I shall be a busy little bee for the next couple of weeks.

Thank you for reading if you want to see more pop over to our TSAST face book page just look up The South Australian School of Trapeze.  You should be able to see Jessica’s catch this week. I’m so proud of her.

Thank you Nick for your awesome training and thank you TSAST team members for working so well together. Congratulations Alli on doing such a good job as team leader.

Leave a Reply

