Blog 2 It’s All About Working Together

Picture1

Blog 2 It’s All About Working Together

We had a great day of flying today. James obviously made the appropriate sacrifice to Thor because the weather held long enough for us to have a really good session on Venus our flying trapeze rig. We flew until we could fly no more and that is just perfect. It’s always a shame when you have to stop before you are ready to. My idea of bliss is to fly until you are ready to drop and that’s what we did today.

Today was an opportunity to consolidate what we had learnt previously, so there was lots of time just to do the same activity over and over until you felt like you either had it down or could do it no more.

There was also time to just try some purely fun stuff. Nick suggested Alli try stepping on the first riser when she took off from the board. Mmm I thought that’s new, I fancy that. So I had a go at leaving from the riser rather than the board itself and that teeny tiny bit of height difference makes you go heaps faster. I thought to myself I have a new favourite thing. James who was on the board at the time was unimpressed by my launch and suggested I get the take off better before using the riser again but my goodness did I love it.

James was honing his craft and it all looked pretty good to me. Nick had a couple of goes at life from the flyer’s point of view rather than the catcher. He also did a very speccy drop from the cradle which I’ll put on my to do list for the future.

Alli demonstrated uber multi skilling abilities by talking to her son down on the ground and then launching off the board to do a speccy trick and I thought it’s impressive she can do both roles at the same time. She did some beautiful turn around stuff and getting back on the board.

I got to do the lines while Alli worked on returning from a catch with Nick and this is where the title of this blog comes from. James was up on the board coaching. I was on lines, Alli was flying Nick was catching. For the trick to work we all had to be on the same page and have the right timing. I found it terrifying to watch Alli up there, leaving Nick’s grip turning and heading back for the bar. I was tempted to say no I can’t do the lines for this but I persevered and we all had to communicate well for it to work. James told Alli what she needed to do and what she needed to communicate to me and to Nick. Alli told me what she needed me to do with the lines and then I had James and Nick coaching me on the lines too. It was terrifying but when it worked, when Alli went flying through the air and Nick caught her and then she turned round and I had done the lines good enough for her to get caught it was magical. We had all worked together to make it happen. Flying Trapeze is team work.

I got to work on my “Whip” which after three goes was showing a little improvement. For the first two goes when I fumbled it I had the amazing sensation of falling when I headed for the net. There is just long enough for you to have that feeling of falling and I loved it. You’re in the air and it’s amazing. I know you’re not supposed to fall but I love the feeling.

Nick demonstrated some psychic ability by suggesting the exact right time we start the pack up. Just as I was taking down our sign, one of the last jobs, the rain hit. It was perfect timing.

If you would like to come and try our flying trapeze you would be very welcome. Currently we run sessions on Saturdays and Sundays and you can contact us through our face book page, or our mobile number 0456738826 or our email sa.trapeze@gmail.com.

Thanks for reading and I’ll catch you next blog.

Leave a Reply

