2016 Blog 6 How did I end up here?

14484888_361446350854780_6230895840384614004_n

It’s been an amazing couple of weeks. I have just completed two weeks of training in dogging and rigging and I’m now a qualified dogger and rigger. Soon I shall have a little plastic card with a somewhat gormless face on it to prove this.

I have no handyman skills. I have very little in the way of mathematical skills. You know that expression measure twice cut once? I’ve rarely been able to get two measurements to agree with each other but that’s ok we are all here for different purposes. So how the heck did I end up in a room with all of these construction workers learning about loads and weights and maths and trying to remember to swear every second word because it’s pretty much their language.

It all started when I quit the smokes. I took up exercise to deal with the withdrawal and the loss of stress coping mechanisms that quitting the smokes produced. Exercise made me want to learn handstands, handstands took me to circus, circus took me to flying trapeze, flying trapeze took me to buying one because we didn’t have one in South Australia and buying one took me to running a flying trapeze business to pay for the darn creature and that took me to dogging and rigging.

So here I am in my school holidays with my steel capped boots in a room full of blokes learning about stuff that I had almost no prior knowledge of. The learning curve was astronomical. The thing was though everybody in the training facility were so nice to Nick, our trapeze’s head trainer and me and I mean everybody.

Nobody treated us like who the hell are you and why are you here. Their reaction was oh you run a flying trapeze how cool. I loved these guys. They swore all the time which is kind of relaxing you don’t feel like you’re bottling anything up, if you’re cross just cuss even when they weren’t cross they cussed.

I wore a hard hat and a high visibility vest which in the trade we call high vis. I seriously considered reinventing myself as TM, I quite fancy that. I drove a fork lift, directed a crane, drove a scissor lift, did stuff up, undid other stuff. I had such a good time. I relived all the fear of my high school maths experiences, I didn’t enjoy that bit but I wouldn’t have had any of these experiences without my beloved trapeze and boy has she tested me on my love this year.

So thank you CITC training your instructor was fabulous, a very funny and knowledgeable man and I am a huge fan of the all you can drink coffee facility.

On to other circussy news. I got to see the final performance of the Circobats Spaced Out show. I had seen the dress rehearsal before but wow the show was amazing. Music, lighting, timing, it was all just wow. There was an OSHC (Out of School Hours Care)group in the audience and those kids were entranced. I had missed seeing Persia the first time round and her performance today was phenomenal. Everyone involved should be proud of themselves it was such a cool show.

I’m going to finish this blog with a little dedication. My little cat Byron is not very well and I think he’s off to the rainbow bridge very soon. I want to say thank you for coming to live with me and I have adored you my little monkey man, say gidday to all of those who have gone before you.

Thank you for reading and I will catch you next week.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

