2016 Blog 7 Let go of the person you think you are to become the person you want to be.

triple

That is possibly one of my longest blog titles ever but it really suits the subject matter.

Before I get into that though my adventures with a flying trapeze have continued this week with getting a ride in a cherry picker and my goodness was that fun. I got to twenty feet and that was as high as the trees we were trimming I was higher than Venus (that’s what we call our flying trapeze) and I could see the tops of my trees. I have always wondered what it would be like to be up there and now I know. How lovely were those tree trimmers that they let me have a go. It’s amazing what you get if you ask for it. May I have a go in your cherry picker, yes they say, you may.

I try to make an effort to go to Friday night open training at Circobats because things keep happening on the Friday night that I don’t see when I just go to the Saturday class. On Friday nights I quite often see people practising routines and a couple of times now I’ve had these really good conversations with people that have made me think about what they’ve said on the drive home.

So this Friday’s conversation was with Vashti and she just said quite casually you and Chantelle should do a routine in an upcoming show. Now Chantelle and I have already said yes please to doing a show case at Christmas but this was another type of thing all together. My first reaction was no way could I do that but then when Vashti had left I kept thinking about it. To perform is a natural extension to circus training. When you know that you will be performing it makes you work harder and really nail down your moves and think about what you’re doing. My long term goal was to perform occasionally so Vashti got me thinking. When I train I have fun and I get fit but I don’t think about how it would look if I had an audience so in a sense even though it’s my long term goal I’m not doing anything to get closer to it. So on my drive home I thought even if I don’t perform in this show I need to be ready for when an opportunity arises. It would be incredibly cool to get up there and show what I can do. So thanks Vashti that was a very nice piece of direction for me.

Saturday class heralded our first session with the triple trapeze and oh my goodness. I’ve done trapeze for a while now but hey there is still heaps I can learn. We went so far out of my comfort zone that I would need GPS to get back.

Our first job for the lesson was to show that we could do a pull up and I’m not a novice at this game. Don’t let your trainer walk away and if you’re going to do one do it early before you get tuckered out. Honestly I was like one of the kids I teach, “Alex! Are you watching? I’m going to do it now’ Chantelle and I did the pull up. Poor Alex, Chantelle and I are adults in name only.

Then the rest of the class was doing all of this amazing partner work that I had not done before. It was challenging, fun, magical and confronting. My mind and my courage got a workout at the same time. I do not understand how people can do fitness and not enjoy it, if you are not enjoying your exercise class take a circus class you’ll never look back.

One really cool thing about partner work on a triple trapeze was that for a couple of the moves because you are both on the trapeze you lock each other in so doing some of the moves I’ve never felt more secure. That was cool.

I did however have a couple of difficulties with the activities. The first difficulty was that up till now all of my partner work has been on a double trapeze and has pretty much been one person on top of another. With a triple trapeze we were doing side by side stuff and I was working overtime to get things straight in my head. This leg goes here and this arm goes here and then time what you do here and I thought Help! We figured it out but my goodness it was a mental workout.

The second difficulty was a difficulty I have had previously when working with others. We were doing this move and I can’t remember what it was called but Chantelle and I had to balance off of each other and I wasn’t comfortable with that at all. I am bigger and heavier than her and I thought I’m going to send her into orbit. She assured me that I wouldn’t and when we did the move she didn’t go into orbit so maybe next time we do it I’ll be able to relax and just enjoy what we’re doing.

So my outcomes from this weekend were. I have a renewed direction with my training. If I want to get to a certain point I need to let go of the person I think I am to become the person I want to be. If I perform and I stuff something up it’s not the end of the world. Hell they stuff up in the Olympics it would be worse to not have a go and what would be really cool is to perform and enjoy performing, hmmm that’s certainly worth thinking about.

This triple trapeze is obviously going to open up a whole new world for us and I am one happy camper about that. Trapeze never gets dull.

Leave a Reply

