Blog 11 An Interesting Week

IMG_3579 Colour SM

I had to scrap the exotic dance class there’s just not enough of me to go round and attend everything that is on offer. I’m starting to feel like Bilbo using the ring too much, “I’m getting thin like butter stretched over too much bread”. The good news is that I can use my kick ass boots in my studios combo class if I can manage to do a class without damaging myself but that happened later in the week.

So what was so interesting about my week? It was a week of revelation, introspection and just generally sucking it up.

I don’t often mention Crossfit in my blogs but Crossfit featured heavily this week. I go to a brilliant gym in Elizabeth (Crossfit Northern Adelaide – yes shameless plug) and I have made great friends there. The coaches are funny and we have these really good conversations that I love. Now at the gym we have been doing an eight week challenge where you work on your sleep, your nutrition, your water consumption and your fitness and I my friends was quietly confident that I was going to do well.

In the eight weeks; I attended gym quite a bit, I drank lots more water than I had done previously, maybe a glass or two a day. I thought about getting more sleep and managed it occasionally. I TURNED DOWN two invites to a milkshake shop which I really wanted to try, I’m positive, almost positive that I ate less biscuits and donuts and chocolate bars than I would have normally. I’m currently on a vegan diet so all of those foods I have managed to find vegan alternatives – pretty cool hey? Oreos! Who knew? So at the start of the challenge we did this fitness test and a body scan and then we were going to finish with a fitness test and a body scan at the end.

This was the week we had the final fitness test and the body scan. I knew I was in trouble going in to the fitness test. I had a nana nap before going to gym, I thought about my clothes so that I would be comfortable and not get too hot. I kept my attitude positive but I knew I was in trouble when I was puffing on the first round. Now in all fairness I improved on the test but not by as much as I was hoping and that was a great big dose of suck it up Trishy. I rallied, next fitness test I’m going to practice in the eight weeks not just do one at the start and one at the finish, there I thought, that will fix that. I’m already working on the Christmas challenge.

So the Universe had done me foul on the fitness test, she was going to come good on the body scan. I had only one breakfast instead of my usual two and arrived for my scan famished. The scan happened, I had a chocolate bar salted away for the celebration that I knew was coming and I was flabbergasted with the results. The only good thing about the results was that I got to use the word flabbergasted which I really like. In eight weeks I had managed to lower my muscle content and increase my body fat. I had lost a kilo in weight (that’s probably due to no milkshake shop) but I have to say Trishy was not a happy camper.

The problem is I am a slow and steady person who likes to eat, this makes fitness and movement, problematical. I don’t care. I’m coming back. I’m going to do another body scan in eight weeks and the results are going to be much much different. One of the women at the gym said we should put FAF (Fit as Fuck) on our shirts and that cheered me up. I’m going to do that. One of the coaches reminded me that in the eight weeks I had increased the amount I was able to lift and that cheered me up too. We did have a ball during the challenge, the highlight for me was a workout with our dogs and I and my dogs had a great time that day. There was a film night WITH pizza which I didn’t attend mostly because I can’t stay up late but mainly because I thought oh no I won’t eat pizza in the eight weeks, look at how well that turned out?

Something that I really love about Crossfit is that it teaches you mental strength. We do these workouts which are awful sometimes and you think there’s no flipping way I can do this. Crossfit teaches you that you start, you do the first bit then the next bit and you keep moving until the job is done. I actually use that philosophy in a lot of activities outside of Crossfit.

Allrighty on to pole. To try and juggle work demands, going to gym, family and pole I have cut pole back to Mondays, Fridays and Saturdays. TWO (I’m using caps a lot this blog) but TWO people have said they could see my abs and this made me very happy both times it was said. I may not be able to do well in a challenge but I have abs and that is absolutely wonderful and if you had the stomach for it I could throw down a lot more ab puns because puns are the core of my humour.

I went to a beginner class run by Giang and it was a hoot and a half. If there is a spot free I go to the beginner classes because it helps you polish up some of your moves. For instance this week Giang said climb with your toes pointed and I have never thought about doing that. I’m usually grateful just to be able to climb up there. Anyhoo I went to this class and two women were first timers and two had had one lesson before this one. What this meant was that Giang said spin round the pole, spin they did and giggled. She said spin backwards and spin they did and giggled. Everything was a giggle or hysterical laughter. You couldn’t help but have a good time. I got to practise my pirouettes (I think that’s what they are called) and my pirouettes are a thing of great ugliness so I was grateful for some catch up time on them.

I tried my first inters floor and combo dance class next. The good news is that I now know I can wear my boots to this class if I want to. The bad news is that Rhianna sings faster than I can dance. I tried getting around this pole before she said the word Desperado and something pinged in my shoulder, I tried again, the shoulder pinged again and I thought bail out Trishy, save yourself. I’ll be back next week.

Saturday was stretch and I got to stretch out my poor injured wing. I skipped gym because my shoulder was sore and I was shitty about the body scan test. So I was pretty pumped for stretch. I learnt a cool way to prepare for the jade spilt and we did thirty, hang on, THIRTY! ok now keep reading, reps for our leg swings, forward, side and back. I thought I’ll be here all day doing this. The stretch class is awesome though and my shoulder felt less pingy.

Next was the inters class and I’m going to come out and say I am improving. Now please remember I started with not being able to do too much at all but this week I felt like I was doing more, it was really cool. I’m still crap at it but I can do more moves before getting exhausted and I’m starting to string things together so Huzzah Trishy! Something a bit interesting happened which I want to share.

I’ve been trying to do the dive and this move is just not happening. I can do the legs but I don’t feel secure. I hang on for grim death with my hands and I fall and land on my head. I get almost shitty with the instructors when they say you’re secure let go and I say back I”M NOT. Giang said something to me which has made me think about what I am doing. I’m paraphrasing but she said something like, “you are upside down holding on with your legs, I am not doing anything. You holding on with your hands is not doing anything in that position”. So I’ve got it into my head that my hands are what is keeping me on but in fact they could be what is stuffing up the move. I need to trust that my legs are doing their job. Bloody hell Pole can be scary.

We did many wonderful things in this class. We did The Suicide spin, I can’t do it but I loved it. I started the Jade Split ooh and I started an aerial Jamilla. One of the highlights from the class was that I did a Butterfly and I love that move. I still don’t understand how it works but I love the way you’re on the pole and then you extend out, it’s very cool.

Thank you Universe for Crossfit and Pole, these instructors and trainers and my fellow students who I love to bits.

Leave a Reply

