Blog 15 It All Makes More Sense Now!

Carly Rowena

Mondays lesson was immensely different and I think my, ‘How not to get totally exhausted’ strategies are working. These strategies have been, divide pole and gym up into different parts of the day, don’t do them one after the other, only do one lesson of pole at a time and use protein shakes.

Only doing one lesson at a time even though Sky High Pole and Fitness is a veritable cornucopia of all things that are wonderful, is starting to pay off. I have told myself you may only do one lesson at a time so choose, is it going to be Vital force, Intermediates or Dance. Monday night I picked Intermediates and I didn’t even do gym first. Straight pole nothing else.

Only doing the one lesson meant that I got to the class with some energy. I enjoyed the class a lot more. I had much more stamina and strength and this morning while I am typing this I am not completely stuffed. I wish my body was strong enough to do all three classes but she may get stronger with time who knows, in the future I may end up doing three classes and this one class time is but a memory.

Something else struck me last night as to why I’m finding pole so much more difficult than trapeze. In trapeze, depending on the class, we had four people or even six using two bars. This meant that there was a part of the lesson where you were standing around waiting for your turn as well as watching what was being taught. In Pole we have our own pole and the only times we stop are if the instructor is instructing or if we are too stuffed to do anymore so I hadn’t realised it but there is a lot more constant physical activity. That’s a bit of a relief because I could not work out why pole was destroying me physically as much as it was. I think it’s also possible that a vertical pole is more difficult than a horizontal bar but I certainly don’t want to get into a discussion of who is stronger, a person who poles or a person who does trapeze. I’m just giving my observations.

I also discovered Monday night that Emily teaches by progressions, if you get this move I will show you this move. You may not like this first move but this is what it gets you. This is an amazingly motivational way to teach so that’s going to keep me coming back to classes and will get me to persevere on moves that I think blech. For example anything with twisty grip is frickin impossible at the moment

My chopper is a gift that just keeps on giving. I can now do the chopper for ten seconds no problem. Emily says now do it while spinning and that gives it a twist and then she showed us an aerial chopper plus a transition and I thought oooh, yes please I’ll have that. To do an aerial chopper means you have to think about what leg goes on the pole first to make sure you get the hand you want and the underarm grip you want. It’s fascinating how everything works, stuff up that first leg and say good bye to your trick unless you want to fake some make up moves to be able to switch arms.

It was a great class with great people and I was not physically wrecked or exhausted the following morning, very cool bananas.

Friday’s class which should have been something little and light ended up pretty well destroying me to the extent that I didn’t make Saturday gym but the upside was that without Saturday gym I got a lot more out of Saturday pole.

I don’t know why Friday destroyed me. I tried doing regular stuff up high on the pole and that was exhausting. I did do gym in the morning and went for a run but that shouldn’t have wrecked me for the day. Who knows maybe sometimes your energy just flags (teeny tiny pole pun). I like these Friday classes though. They are an opportunity to refine what you have. So when you climb a pole keep your toes pointed. When you do a chopper how are you getting down. All these little tips and tricks that make what you do on the pole more beautiful, more controlled and more controlled pretty much means more strength.

I was feeling a little sorry for myself since I wasn’t able to go to gym and then Sarah, Friday’s instructor, posted on facebook that she had done ten iron x’s. Now please bear in mind that I want one. I congratulated her and she said back and I quote “Thanks Trish you are getting so strong won’t be long and you will be flagging! Now I want you to take a moment to see if you can understand what that meant when I read it. It’s one thing when your mates say, yeah you can do it. It’s a whole different ball game when your trainer says you can do it and in fact she says it won’t be long before you have it. Sarah saying that actually made me feel like the Iron X was coming. I stopped feeling so exhausted and I started feeling like mmm how many lessons of vital force can I squeeze into my week. The comment rejuvenated me, it was like a shot of adrenalin. I think it’s because when the words come from someone who has the relevant knowledge or training then the words carry more weight and have more impact. It’s crazy but a little phrase like this meant everything to me. How cool will it be when I can post a picture on this blog of me doing the Iron X?

Saturday was amaziballs. Stretch was good without being excruciating. A really lovely person has started the class and it must be nice for Giang to have fresh fodder to work on. To see a new person, and this was her first stretch class, shows you how far you have come yourself. I remember praying that the stretch class and the torture would end when I started pole stretch but now the lesson goes so quickly you can’t believe it’s over.

The next class because I’m going to continue to do back to back on a Saturday, was more amaziballs. We only had two students in the class and that meant it was an incredible opportunity to work on any areas you wanted to and you get stacks of teacher time. I can’t believe how far I have come. There was a time when I could not make it through one of Giang’s classes when there was a full class with lots of people now I can hold my own when there is only two students.

Today we worked on our grip and we worked on Ayesha and we worked on the Iron X, I could not have been happier. Just for a moment when I couldn’t figure out how to hold the pole and still face front I thought this is too much for you. Then I thought no, even if you can’t see it at this moment you couldn’t climb a pole when you started. You certainly couldn’t do The Superman. I am amazing myself by what I can do from week to week.

So today I can’t do the twisty grip but I can work on that. I managed to hold the pole, keep my shoulders down, face front, have my head tilt down and then spin round. That alone gets me closer to my beloved Iron X.

I think and I don’t want to be a wanker here but I think I have my Ayesha. Giang told me this really cool trick of checking that you are in proper alignment with the pole and since she has done that I can get myself in the right spot and then do the legs part of it. I hope I’m remembering it right and if I’m not blame me for my shocking memory but I think it went like this. Your head must point to the ground. Your chest should face the pole and your lower arm should be slightly bent so you can push yourself out. Then when you have those three things going on you can pull your tush out which will bring your legs out and huzzah Ayesha be yours!

I also need to work on the cool dismount from this move. It is too sad to clunk to the ground after such a pretty move, I will work on the side ways cartwheel off dismount, definitely more decorative.

I had set myself homework for this lesson and I failed miserably. However onwards and upwards next week I will do better. Giang gives us free style time at the end of class and she sets some challenges in it. So you need to spend thirty seconds on the pole, or thirty seconds doing floor work. This week we had to string three then four moves together. Mine was atrocious and my class mate said, can I do mine (hers) again just better so I don’t think either of us shone in this part of the class. I had hoped that I would prepare something for this part of the class because I do not have a spontaneous bone in my body and I didn’t and when Giang said do your free style bit I pretty much had nothing. Now Giang is very funny when she doesn’t like something. She doesn’t say well that was crap she says instead, let’s try it this way or let’s try this. It’s pretty funny. Anyhoo after a lot of assistance in choosing the moves which I shouldn’t need in free style but there you go I had three then four moves I could put together. The challenge was work on beautiful transitions. I think we can safely say that my transitions were not beautiful but what it did do was give me an idea of how exhausting a pole routine is because just four moves had me puffing like a steam engine. It will be very cool when I have enough stamina to be able to pole for a whole routine.

On that note last night I went to see several people who did just that. It was the Australian Amateur Pole Performer competition. A brilliant night and I saw some extremely talented and gutsy people. They held the competition at the Star Theatre in Adelaide and that place has so much atmosphere it was fantastic. I pretty much felt like I was in the theatre from Sing, it was a surreal experience. The performers were incredible. It gave me an idea of what our trainers are trying to teach us when I saw people up there doing their moves to music, one after another. I couldn’t believe their fitness and their timing and their bravery with the moves they chose. It was a great night. One of the guys from Sky High Pole and Fitness won his division so that was pretty cool. The competitions are fun. People dress up, we got to do the Mexican wave, you are expected to hoot and holler for performers. I’m going to see Scarlet and Sarah perform next week and I am looking forward to that.

Thank you Universe for providing my pole studio, my teachers and my fellow students who I love to bits.

Leave a Reply

