Blog 18 Shoulder Rolls, Spinning Choppers and Leg switches Bitches!!!!!!

2d64b35d71672e00c1673b89de2cf6b3--cartoon-unicorn-cute-unicorn

OMG where do I start? Some lessons you get very little accomplished and you think that’s ok you are building up your strength and if you don’t get the move this time you may get it next time. Some lessons are bloody amazing. Monday night was frickin amazing.

We did this running man move which I liked very much and then we were in for a surprise, shoulder rolls.

I have wanted shoulder rolls for a while. Last Saturday at the Pole Championships I swear every second person was doing shoulder rolls and I thought everyone in the world can do shoulder rolls except me.

Now I should mention here that I have damaged my shoulder previously. I did the AC joint on the Wednesday before an ultra marathon. I still ran/walked the race and my shoulder killed. And yes before you ask I did just name drop an ultra marathon but who knows if I’ll ever do that again so if I get an opportunity to name drop it I’m gunna take it. Anyhoo after that experience I am very touchy about anything to do with shoulders and I’ve never liked rolling backwards.

So Sarah said I’m gunna show you shoulder rolls. Get the mat was my first thought. She showed us and it was beautiful and I stood there kinda feeling like the crippled kid in the Pied Piper of Hamlyn. All the other kids were having a go. In all honesty we had a cupla injured students so it wasn’t quite everyone. But I didn’t have any injuries I just had a big streak of yellow. Not to worry I thought that’s why the Universe gives us spots.

So I said Sarah will you spot me, nobody else asked for spots but I didn’t care. I’m extremely elderly and if I get injured it will take forever to heal. So she did and she talked me through the move and my god I did a bloody shoulder roll. I did not believe it. Have you ever got just exactly what you wanted from the Universe? It’s gorgeous there’s nothing quite like it. The way she showed us takes all the pressure off your neck and it’s as easy as pie and stagger me but I did the shoulder roll front ways, back ways with a mat and then without a mat. Who was this woman teaching us? A frickin magician? I kid you not I have never been able to do shoulder rolls and tonight huzzah!

Well the magic didn’t stop there baby. Sarah says lets do some spinning choppers. Sure I thought I don’t mind me a little spinning chopper action but we didn’t slowly get up and creak around the pole no sir. We took a bit of a run, a bit of a jump and then kapow we were flying. My god I had fun and you know what it was dam close to a bloody aerial fan kick and I thought yessum I like that a lot. I might just mention that I could do these choppers from both sides and I was feeling pretty dam happy.

Right at the finish Sarah showed us this cool flipping trick but I got nowhere with that. I think the Universe was saying “Your head is too big, you will not fit in the car on the way home, your massive ego cannot handle this, we will just pass on this last exercise. So I didn’t get the cool flippy trick but I’m really happy with what I did get.

We had Sarah again on Wednesday and she said ok leg switches. I gave a little sigh and I thought, that’s not for you Trishy that’s for the other kids. So I waited for Sarah to get the other kids started and I figured she would give me an interim move. Over she comes and says would you like to have a go. I realise she means leg switches and I think sure I would love to have a go.

Sarah asks are you ok to let go of your arms during a leg hang and I’m almost cranky. It’s like yes Sarah I can do that bit what does that have to do with a leg switch. My mother didn’t raise a dim child so I kept my big mouth shut and did as I was told and Sarah says ok bring that leg forward, I did and now you can let that one off and switch and I did it. I bloody did it. I did a leg switch. Good God.

I remember looking at those leg switches months ago and thinking keep looking Trishy that’s the closest you’ll ever get to them. It’s so cool how they teach you to bring one leg forward, trap it on the pole then you can remove the other one. Pole is awesome, simply simply awesome. Now I really enjoy saying this:

I did switches bitches ….. boy that feels good to say.

Sarah showed us another fantastic move and I thought yep I’ll have a little of that thank you. So up I climbed and I was hanging upside down like a demented sloth trying to work out which hand went where and which foot went where and all of a sudden Sarah just appears.

How did Sarah just appear like that? Do they teach this in instructor school? Always watch your students and if somebody is doing something new get over there. It was like she appeared out of thin air and it was kind of lovely. All of a sudden I saw her with her arms out and I thought Sarah is hella strong, she’s got me if I fall. Pole instructors are amazing people. We did this cool move and I think it was Ayesha like, blood was starting to pool at the top of my skull, I had been upside down for a while by this time, so it’s hard to remember exactly.

I do recall however that Steph came up to me afterwards and said I can so see you getting the Iron X, that was just verbal crack for me. What a lovely gift to give someone. You should have seen Steph do leg switch after leg switch after leg switch that night it was amazing.

You know I am on school holidays and I really thought about whether I would do Vital Force as well but in all honestly one pole class absolutely tuckers me out. I was stuffed at the finish so I’m going to keep going with single lessons except for Saturdays. Pole is an extremely physical activity.

Giang’s class on Saturday wrapped up an amazing week. Giang’s stretch class is incredible. I have improved so much in the time I have been going. I need to think about doing middle stretch practice at home that would be a very cool thing to have. My side splits are going crazy, two blocks people, booyeah.

The next class I had no energy so that was a hard slog. However when I’m too pooped to do stuff that means I get to watch stuff and in pole you can see some very interesting stuff.

What I had time to watch then while I was too stuffed to do anything was to watch Giang’s teaching style and she is really good. There are two things I base this judgement on so you can decide for yourselves.

The first is, she has a class where the ability level is quite differentiated and today she also had a brand new student. She had to figure out what level the student was at and where she would start a move and she had to do that in two seconds flat before the rest of her students got restless. So then Giang shows us a move and you do that. Then if that is a challenge stay there and work on it. If it’s too easy she will give you the next step and then the next. So everyone is catered for. I think it’s brilliant. It also means that you get to see where the move will take you and that keeps you slogging away.

The second thing she did was amazingly cool. When she demonstrates a move the first thing that struck me was that she can talk and explain the move while she is upside down, she doesn’t even sound puffy. Then I realised that she engineers what she does, I can’t think of a better word for it, so that she is facing us when she is talking so that we can see the move clearly. Now take a minute to absorb that. You are talking about the move and you are doing it so that you get into the move at the right time so that you are facing your students. She even does it so that you can see the move from every angle. I was fascinated by how she was doing this. A brilliant teacher for sure.

Giang is starting to show us progressions with our moves so I was talking about the leg switches we had done and she showed us a hip hold and once that baby is covered we can start looking at Jade splits. If I hadn’t been so tuckered out I would have given it more effort but I had no ooph. Megan and Amelia did a great job and I just pigeon holed this move for next time.

Amelia commented on my abs and I thought thank you darling you have just made my day. I love it when Amelia comes to class she just has this funny and laid back energy and you always know it’s going to be a good lesson when she shows up. If she ever wanted to she could do stand up, she’s a very funny person. Megan did a beautiful jade split and she has fallen previously from this so it’s pretty ballsy that she’s back up there doing it. She also has a middle split to die for.

That’s my lot, thank you for reading and I will catch you next week. Thank you Universe for providing my pole studio, my teachers and my fellow students who I love to bits.

 

Leave a Reply

